Regenerative Model - Water Resilience in Mexico City

Date: 27 October 2020

Time: 8:00am PST | 11:00am EST | 3:00pm GMT | 4:00pm CET

This webinar is part of a three-part series from the Stories of Change which discusses how systemic frameworks can help us understand social change, and how you can facilitate group discussions using these frameworks such as Multi-Level Perspectives, Iceberg Model, and Regenerative Model.

How do we understand living systems and its multiple levels? How can societies better align with the living systems it is interdependent with?

The Regenerative Model, typically used in whole systems thinking, can help us shift from sustaining systems to restoring and regenerating. Our speaker panelists discuss the story of water management in the neighbourhood of Xochimilco in Mexico City and how preserving cultural practices restored water access in times of crisis.

Regeneration, as a mindset, is focused on building the capacity and capability in people, communities, and other natural systems to restore, renew or revitalize. How can regenerative design help us understand the whole systems to shift toward resilient and equitable systems that integrate nature?

This Stories of Change session focuses on water management in Mexico City--a city built on lakelands--and how the poor neighbourhood of Xochimilco demonstrated the value of rainwater harvesting following the 2017 earthquake. What can this story teach us about shifting from extracting value to reconnecting cultural reverence for a natural resource such as water? Our panel of speakers comes from The School of System Change/Forum of the Future, Regenesis, Isla Urbana, and Glider Global. Video is forthcoming.

The School of System Change collaborated with foundations, academics, creatives and others to create the Stories of Change--a series of videos and tools for designing and delivering system change practices. The School engaged a community of partners to transform these stories into multimedia videos and facilitated learning experiences.

Speakers and panellists:

Host: Rodrigo Bautista (Forum for the Future)

Panelists:

- Delfin Montañana (Isla Urbana)

- Ben Haggard (Regenesis)

- Garrett Stringer (Glider Global)

Register your interest now - you will receive a Zoom link closer to the event date.

This is part of a 3-part webinar series, Stories of Change. Join us for the full programming through Stories of Change Webinar Series.

Sept 29 (Tues): Stories of Change 1: Multi-level Perspective - The Birth of Rock N Roll.

Oct 13 (Tues): Stories of Change 2: Iceberg Model - The Rise of the Civil Rights Movement.