Dates: Thursday 11 November, Tuesday 30 November and Tuesday 14 December 2021

Times: 

  • India / South East Asia / Europe: 8:00-10:00am UTC | 1:30-3:30pm IST | 4:00-6:00pm SGT | 5:00-7:00pm JST | 7:00-9:00pm  AEDT
  • Americas / Europe / Africa4:00-6:00pm UTC | 08:00-10:00am PST | 11:00am - 1:00pm EST | 6:00-8:00pm CAT | 7:00-9:00pm EAT  

The three two-hour roundtable sessions are designed to build on each other over the course of five weeks and participants are encouraged to attend all three sessions. Each session will run online twice on each date, to suit time zones across the Americas, Europe, Africa, India and South East Asia.

APPLY TO PARTICIPATE


Climate change is set to pose significant risks to cotton - the most widely produced natural fibre. But what exactly are the potential environmental and social-economic impacts of climate change on key cotton growing regions and the wider industry? What are the implications for producers, brands & retailers, cotton standards and the investor community? And how can the sector come together to use this information to develop responses that build climate resilience and address climate justice issues, in addition to rapid decarbonisation efforts? 

Earlier this year, the Cotton 2040 initiative - convened by Forum for the Future and in partnership with climate-risk experts Acclimatise - published the first ever global analysis of physical climate risks across global cotton growing regions for the 2040s. This found that half of the world’s cotton growing regions could face high or very high climate risk exposure to climate hazards such as wildfires, drought and extreme rainfall. 

We are now inviting you to join us for three roundtable events where we will dive into this data in deeper detail, sharing a geography-specific analysis of the expected impacts and implications across different cotton growing regions, seeking to understand the critical impacts for actors across the supply chain and to collectively prioritise both urgent and long-term action across the cotton sector. 

For the upcoming events on 30 November and 14 December, we are particularly keen to receive applications from those based in the Americas, Turkey, North and SubSaharan Africa regions, and/or a focus on manufacturing or investing.

APPLY TO PARTICIPATE

Roundtable details:

  • Roundtable 1: Thursday 11 November: registrations now closed
    Understanding the climate risks facing the cotton sector and exploring the implications for future production
  • Roundtable 2: Tuesday 30 November:
    Developing a deeper understanding of the adaptation response required to build a more climate resilient cotton sector
  • Roundtable 3: Tuesday, 14 December:
    Shaping a pathway towards collaborative action for a climate resilient cotton sector

Together, we will explore:

  • How is climate change likely to impact cotton growing globally, and specifically in the US and India? We will also look at what the data is showing us in parts of northern and sub-Saharan Africa, South America, Australasia and the wider Asia Pacific.
  • What are the environmental and social implications for cotton growing regions and the wider implications for producers, manufacturers, and organisations across the sector?
  • What types of adaptation might be an appropriate response to the climate risks identified in order to build a more resilient and equitable cotton sector?
  • Where are current adaptation efforts falling short and what are the enabling conditions required to scale and accelerate adaptation commensurate to the climate risks identified?
  • In particular, how might we activate investment in adaptation and empower those most impacted by climate change?
  • What are the practical steps we can collectively work on together to decarbonise the sector more rapidly?                                                               

APPLY TO PARTICIPATE

Roundtable conveners: 

  • Dhaval Negandhi, Associate Director of Climate Change, Forum for the Future
  • Erin Owain, Lead Associate - Climate and Resilience Hub, and Alastair Baglee, Director, Corporates - Climate & Resilience Hub, Willis Towers Watson
  • Charlene Collison, Associate Director, Sustainable Value Chains and Livelihoods, Forum for the Future

How to apply: On the booking page, Please select one ticket for each roundtable, to suit your time zone. In order to ensure an even spread of participants representing all elements of the cotton value chain, we will review registrations and confirm places nearer the time. In some cases this might mean that we are not able to accommodate your booking request but will share recordings of the roundtables with everyone afterwards.

About Cotton 2040

Cotton 2040 is a multi-stakeholder initiative to facilitate the shift to a sustainable global cotton industry which is resilient in a changing climate; which uses business models that support sustainable production and livelihoods; and where sustainably produced cotton is the norm. The initiative is convened by Forum for the Future with support from Laudes Foundation. Find out more